Leadership Endowments

Leadership endowments advance Barrow's world-class care

Donate & Support

Endowments provide stability in an unstable world. Many generous donors have stepped forward to endow programs and chairs, providing Barrow Neurological Institute with a steady stream of income for academic and research priority areas. Without these endowments, the institute would have to rely on patient revenue and grant funds to cover research and academic expenses—an increasingly difficult proposition in today’s challenging economic times.

Endowed chairs have aided in the recruitment of many top doctors and rising stars at Barrow, who joined the institute, in part, because of those endowments. Endowed chairs generate annual income, allowing the physicians and scientists who hold them to pursue research and academic interests.

Equally important is the fact that endowed chairs are awarded only to the top individuals in a field, thus symbolizing the high degree of competency of these individuals in their specialty.

Barrow Endowed Chairs


  • Robert F. Spetzler Endowed Chair for Neurosciences, held by Dr. Michael Lawton
  • Kemper & Ethel Marley Chair for Neurology, held by Dr. Brad A. Racette
  • Evie & Lou Grubb Chair for Neurovascular Research, held by Dr. Felipe Albuquerque
  • Francis and Dionne Najafi Chair for Neurosurgical Oncology, held by Dr. Nader Sanai
  • Karsten Solheim Chair for Dementia Research, held by Dr. Anna Burke
  • Greening Chair for Neuroscience Research, held by Dr. Elliott Mufson
  • Volker K.H. Sonntag Chair for Spine Research, held by Dr. Juan Uribe
  • Fulton Family Chair for Motor Neuron Disease, held by Dr. Shafeeq Ladha
  • Bob & Renee Parsons Chair for Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorders, held by Dr. Holly Shill
  • John P. and Betty Van Denburgh Chair for Neuromuscular Disease, held by Dr. Robert Bowser
  • William R. and Joan R. Shapiro Chair for Neuro-Oncology Research, held by Dr. Yoshie Umemura
  • Lonnie and Muhammad Ali Chair for Movement Disorders Research, held by Dr. Susan Criswell
  • Ellen and Howard Katz Chair for Neuroimaging Innovation, held by Dr. Richard Dortch

Continued investments in endowed chairs will strengthen Barrow’s ability to recruit and retain top brain and spine specialists and scientists—who, in turn, bring new research projects into our community, creating jobs, enhancing the local economy and improving healthcare here and beyond. Supporting an endowed chair is actually one of the most powerful ways of impacting our ability to save lives.

For more information on supporting an endowed chair, call the Barrow Neurological Foundation at 602.406.3041 .